Golden Globe Awards 2016

I have talked before about how the Academy Awards are like my Superbowl. I just can’t miss them. I hate football by the way. As a result, I try to watch all the movies I can throughout the year, and when the nominations come up, I watch all the ones I missed. The Golden Globe Awards give you a descent idea of the movies that will be nominated for the Academy Awards and so this is an event I try not to miss. I will talk only about the movie section though because although I am a fan of quite a few series, I am not very familiar with many others.

The night consisted of The Revenant, The Martian, and Steve Jobs. It is with great pride that I can say a Mexican director, Alejandro G. Iñárritu took two of the most important Golden Globes of the night, Best Director and Best Motion Picture – Drama. I have been dying to watch that movie, and I will be watching it later on this week. But, being a fan of his work, I am sure I won’t be disappointed.

Now, Leonardo Di Caprio won the Golden Globe for Best Actor, which isn’t his first. He has previously won for The Aviator and The Wolf of Wall Street. In the latter, I was sure he was going to win… Until I saw Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club. He was truly out of this world. I am truly hoping however, that this will be Leonardo’s year to finally receive an Academy Award. We shall see.

The Martian also received high praises, after winning Best Actor and Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy. While I loved this movie, I have to say I still don’t see how this is a comedy. I won’t lie, it made me laugh quite a few times, but come on, this is a drama! I am still perplexed by this, but I guess I will let it be.

I was surprised to see Steve Jobs take some trophies home. I have honestly been a little skeptical about it and just haven’t made it a priority to watch. So when it won best Screenplay, winning over giants like The Big Short, The Hateful Eight, and Spotlight, as well as Best Supporting Actress, winning over Alicia Vikander and Jennifer Jason Leigh, I was just offended. I mean, I really have to watch that movie. I just can’t think how it can be better than the ones I just mentioned. Come on. Expect my review of Steve Jobs to be a tiny bit bias because of this… maybe.

Other amazing movies, such as The Hateful Eight, Inside Out, Creed, Room and Joy, also took some winnings. Brie Larson from Room, who was my favorite to win, took the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Drama, and even though I haven’t seen Carol or Brooklyn, something tells me she is in for the Academy Award as well. Jennifer Lawrence took the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Comedy for Joy, which was, in my opinion, quite easy with the competition she had to be honest. However, I still need to check out Maggie Smith’s appearance in The Lady in the Van, which seems very promising.

Inside Out won Best Animated Feature, obviously. There is no more to say about that. Hateful Eight won Best Score, for which I will not comment yet since I am not very good at identifying great music. Everything sounds great to my ears you know? I guess I am just not a musical oriented person. I mean I love music, but when I am watching a movie I get distracted by other elements and are unable to focus on what the music is making me feel or how it supports the scene.


And finally, the big win for Best Supporting Actor went to Sylvester Stallone for Creed, who received a standing ovation. I have never been a fan of Sylvester Stallone, if anything I try to avoid his movies; but he was good in Creed. I guess he needed to accept the fact that he is no good as Rocky anymore. He needed to leave that behind to succeed. And he did.

It was a show full of surprises to be honest. I was surprised to see Spotlight, The Big Short, and my two favorite supporting actresses didn’t make it into any of the winners. But this is just the warm up. The Academy Awards are just a few weeks away my friends. I am way too excited!

Leave a Reply

